valentine's day (2014)

Track Listing 

1. Potions And Poisons (Enigma One)  3:05 
2. Fireworks (Enigma Two)  3:38 
3. Blind Owl And Buckwheats (Enigma Three)  4:30 
4. Abramelin (Enigma Four)  3:19 
5. Seven Secrets (Enigma Five)  2:53 
6. Before I Saw The Spirit Of A Child (Enigma Six)  4:40 
7. UX (Enigma Seven)  4:04 
8. The Voynich Mandala (Enigma Eight)  4:33 
9. Codebreaker (Enigma Nine)  4:32 
10. Map (Enigma Ten)  3:41 
11. Black Mirror (Enigma Eleven)  2:18 
12. And The Clouds Drift By (Enigma Twelve)  2:48


Trevor Dunn: Electric 5-string Bass 
Marc Ribot: Electric Guitar 
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Recorded March 2010, June 2014 and Mixed July 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Paintings - John Zorn 
Photos - Ikue Mori 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)


An exciting new world of instrumental rock featuring three generations of Downtown superstars—Marc Ribot (Ceramic Dog, Tom Waits, Elvis Costello), Trevor Dunn (Mr. Bungle, Melvins, Fantômas) and Tyshawn Sorey (Steve Coleman, Anthony Braxton, Vijay Iyer). Written in 2010, these 12 instrumental miniatures combine atonal lyricism with rock intensity—Schoenberg meets Beefheart’s Magic Band. Originally released as duos in 2011 on the now legendary Enigmata CD (one of the most vexing CDs in Zorn’s catalog) the music is made more visceral and dynamic in this special trio version with the addition of the powerful drums of Tyshawn Sorey. Insane, outrageous and exhilarating!

Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8323 

Release Date:  September 2014