Track Listing


1.Antiphonal Fanfare For The Great Hall 
6.The Steppenwolf 
7.In Excelsis 
9.Il n'y a Plus de Firmament


James Baker: Conductor  
Marcus Rojas: Tuba  
Matthew Welch: Conductor  
Alex Bender: Trumpet  
Marco Blaauw: Double-bell Trumpet In C  
Jay Campbell: Cello  
Andy Clausen: Trombone  
Kevin Cobb: Trumpet  
Peter Evans: Bb Trumpet  
Mike Garfield: Trumpet  
John Gattis: Horns  
Stephen Gosling: Piano  
Louis Hanzlik: Trumpet  
Andy Kemp: Trumpet, Piccolo Trumpet  
Tim Leopold: Trumpet  
Christian McBride: Bass  
Rane Moore: Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, Eb Clarinet  
Adrian Morejon: Bassoon  
Sam Nester: Trumpet  
Mike Nicolas: Cello  
Tara Helen O'Connor: Flute, Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute  
Chris Otto: Violin  
Michael Powell: Trombone  
Eric Reed: Horns  
Stephanie Richards: Trumpet  
John D. Rojak: Bass Trombone  
Joshua Rubin: Clarinet In A  
Arthur Sato: Oboe, English Horn  
Tyshawn Sorey: Drums

Track Information


THE PRACTICAL TRUMPET SOCIETY conducted by Matthew Welch

Tim Leopold - Trumpet
Stephanie Richards - Trumpet
Mike Gurfield - Trumpet
Alex Bender - Trumpet
Andy Kemp - Trumpet
Sam Nester - Trumpet

RECORDED September 2014 by Jeremiah Cymerman at Mannes Auditorium, NYC
MIXED September 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

2. FREUD (2016)  10:05

Chris Otto - Violin
Joy Campbell - Cello
Mike Nicolas - Cello

RECORDED And MIXED April 23, 2016 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

3. MERLIN  (2015)  6:10

Peter Evans - B♭Trumpet

RECORDED And MIXED June 20-21, 2016 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

4-5. DIVAGATIONS  (2014) 4. RAVINGS  5:19  5. WANDERINGS  (4:36)

Stephen Gosling - Piano
Christian McBride - Bass
Tyshawn Sorey - Drums

RECORDED December 15, 2015 by Jeff Cook at Second Story Sound, NYC 
MIXED December 16, 2015 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

6. THE STEPPENWOLF  (2012)  6:37

Joshua Rubin - Clarinet In A

RECORDED July 26, 2014 by Michael Caterisano at Creekside Sound, Brooklyn, NY
PRODUCED and EDITED by Joshua Rubin and Michael Caterisano

7. IN EXCELSIS  (2013)  2:22

AMERICAN BRASS QUINTET conducted by Matthew Welch

Kevin Cobb - Trumpet
Louis Hanzlik - Trumpet
Eric Reed - Horn
Michael Powell - Trombone
John D. Rojak - Bass Trombone
Andy Kemp - Piccolo Trumpet
Andy Clausen - Trombone
Marcua Rojas - Tuba

RECORDED September 2013 by Jeremiah Cymerman at Mannes Auditorium, NYC 
MIXED September 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

8. MERLIN  (2015)  6:49

Marco Blaauw - Double Bell Trumpet in C

RECORDED and MIXED December 2016 by Sebastian Schottke at Musikfabrik Studio, Cologne, Germany

9. IL N'Y A PLUS DE FIRMAMENT  (2014)  11:34

TALEA ENSEMBLE conducted by James Baker

Tara Helen O'Connor - Flute, Piccolo, Alto Flute, Bass Flute
Rane Moore - Clarinet, Bass Clarinet, E♭Clarinet
Arthur Sato - Oboe, English Horn
Adrian Morrison - Bassoon
John Gattis - Horn

RECORDED And MIXED October 21, 2016 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC


All music composed by John Zorn
Produced by John Zorn
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama
Mastering - Scott Hull
Artwork - John Zorn
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)


There is No More Firmament is a remarkable collection of recent compositions from 2013–2016 that showcase the range, variety and continued creativity of Zorn as he enters his sixties. Connected together with a thread of intensity, magic and madness, the music tells a twisted and complex story of a magical descent into madness. The compositions include two works for brass ensembles, a woodwind quintet, jazz piano trio, string trio and two solo pieces for clarinet and trumpet, with the outrageous trumpet solo Merlin appearing in two realizations—one by jazz master Peter Evans and another by the European classical virtuoso Marco Blaauw.

Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8352

Release Date:  March 2017