the testament of solomon (2014)

Track Listing 

1. Alamot  4:20 
2. Kotlenu  4:45 
3. Holat Ahavah  4:25 
4. 'Ayummah  4:33 
5. Nirdi  3:16 
6. 'Asis  4:31 
7. 'Atarah  4:47 
8. Gappuha  3:36 
9. Berotim  4:46 
10. Otyah  5:10 
11. Sammatek  4:27



Carol Emanuel: Harp 
Bill Frisell: Guitar 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibes 


Composed, Arranged,and Conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded And Mixed March 17, 2014 by Marc Urselli  at EastSide Sound, NYC
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Engraving  by GUSTAVE DORE 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


For their fourth release, Zorn’s most intimate and spiritual 21st century ensemble returns with a melodic and open book of tunes reminiscent of the Book of Angels. Drawing inspiration from the Biblical Song of Solomon and originally intended as a companion piece to Zorn’s vocal masterpiece Shir Hashirim, the music is regal, sensual and romantic—a magical blend of classical, jazz and folk music. There has never been a group like the Gnostic Trio, and The Testament of Solomon is a unique CD in their catalog, filled with strong solos, telepathic interplay and a charming lyricism.

Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8321 

Release Date:  August 2014