the painted bird (2016)

Track Listing 

1. Snakeskin. 7:46 
2. Plague. 2:58 
3. Ravens. 3:52 
4. Comet. 3:21 
5. Cinders. 3:23 
6. Nettles. 3:07 
7. Night. 5:19 
8. Spike. 3:28 
9. Missal. 4:28


John Medeski: Organ 
Ches Smith: Congas, Voudun Drums 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibes 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums 
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Producer - John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed November 2015 by Marc Urselli at East Side Sound, NYC 
Mastered by Scott Hull, NYC 
Digipack Artwork - Hieronymous Bosch
Disc Artwork - John Zorn
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


The fourth CD in a 12-month period by Zorn’s most powerful new ensemble presents nine genre-busting compositions mixing jazz, metal, classical, world music and more. This time their trademark sound is augmented by the ringing tones of Kenny Wollesen’s vibraphone to create their wildest, most insane CD to date. Juxtaposing complex atonal lines, driving vamps, heavy metal riffs, improvisational madness, shredding solos and moments of profound lyricism, The Painted Bird is a surreal and expressive new world in sound. Moonchild meets Nova Express!

Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8342

Release Date:  March 2016