the ninth circle (2021)

Track Listing

1. Canto I  5:34 
2. Canto II  5:36 
3. Canto III  4:51 
4. Canto IV  2:37 
5. Canto V  5:04 
6. Canto VI  4:34 
7. Canto VII  3:18 
8. Canto VIII  4:45 
9. Canto IX  2:54


Matt Hollenberg: Bass 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums 
John Medeski: Organ
Brian Marsella: Mellotron, Fender Rhodes


All music composed, arranged, conducted and produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed July 1-3, 2021 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC
Mastering by Scott Hull 
Artwork [Inside] – Roelant Savery 
Artwork [Orpheus Painting] – Jan Breugel
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


The latest recording by Zorn’s newest ensemble Chaos Magick is a suite inspired by the ancient Greek legend of Orpheus and Eurydice. Combining contemporary classical with jazz, funk, rock, blues, film soundtrack, noise improvisation and so much more this is a wild and evocative trip thru Hell and back. Tight conductions, complex melodies, burning solos, telepathic group interaction and all the wit, humor, joy and mystery that one has come to expect from Zorn’s dedicated and passionate crew of virtuosi are in abundant display in this beautiful and unique rendering of the classic Orpheus legend.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8385 

Release Date:  December 10, 2021