the last judgment (2014)

Track Listing:

1. Tria Prima 
2. Trinity 
3. Resurrection 
4. Le Tombeau de Jacques de Molay 
5. Sleepy Hollow 
6. Friday The 13th 
7. Misericordia 
8. Incant 
9. Slipway


Joey Baron: Drums 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
John Medeski: Organ 
Mike Patton: Voice 


All music and lyrics composed & arranged by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded February and mixed September 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound 
Vocals recorded August - September 2014 at Vulcan, SF
Cover Art - Hieronymus Bosch
Back cover photo of 13C Templar initiation ring by John Zorn
The Inauguration of Jacques de Molay as Templar Grand Master by Francois-Marius Granet
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Heung-Heung Chin 
Dedicated to Antonin Artaud, Edgar Varèse and Aleister Crowley


Featuring the same magical Templar quartet from “In Sacred Blood”, “The Last Judgment” is the final CD in the remarkable Moonchild septology. This project has explored many different worlds in the past 8 years, and this CD takes a moody and lyrical approach with Medeski’s organ fully integrated into the band. Once again inspired by the legend of the powerful Knights Templar and their tragic demise under accusations of heresy in 1307, Zorn has composed a suite of pieces with a strong sense of continuity and emotional impact. Mike Patton draws on every vocal technique in his huge arsenal and the rhythm section of Dunn and Baron are tighter than ever. The last piece of the Moonchild puzzle—essential!

Series :  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8325 

Release Date:  November 17, 2014