the hierophant (2019)

Track Listing: 

1. The Hierophant  5:01
2. The High Priestess  6:21 
3. The Devil  2:28 
4. The Magician  6:09 
5. The Hermit  3:05
6. The Hanged Man  8:52
7 .Death  5:10 
8. The Tower  4:10 
9. The Lovers  5:43


Trevor Dunn: Bass 
Kenny Wollensen: Drums 
Brian Marsella: Piano


All music composed, arranged and produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed January 12 & 13, 2019 by Ryan Streher at Oktaven Stuio, Mount Vernon
Mastering by Scott Hull
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 
Paintings by Aleister Crowley from the collection of John Zorn


The Hierophant is a spectacular new suite of Zorn compositions drawing inspiration from the mystic world of the Tarot. Scored for classic jazz piano trio, the music is powerful and varied, hitting upon a wide range of styles, emotions and moods. Passionately performed by three members of Zorn’s inner circle—Brian Marsella (piano) Trevor Dunn (bass) and Kenny Wollesen (drums) these magical and moving pieces are not like any piano trio you have ever heard. Thrilling and beautiful modern chamber music featuring three new music virtuosos at the very height of their powers!

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8363 

Release Date:  May 2019