the dream membrane (2014)

Track Listing

1. The Dream Membrane  47:50 


John Zorn - Shofar,  Alto Saxophone 
Bill Laswell -  Bass, Drones
David Chaim Smith - Voice, Texts


Created by Smith/Laswell/Zorn
Producer - Bill Laswell
Executive Producer -  John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded June 2014 by James Dellatacoma 
Mix translation by Bill Laswell
Mastered by Scott Hull 
all texts and drawings are original works by David Chaim Smith for the book entitled The Awakening Ground, compiled from material done on retreat in 2012-2014 in Brooklyn, NY
Design by Heung Heung Chin 


This fabulous collaborative musical project features the legendary magus David Chaim Smith reading selections from his mystical text The Awakening Ground along with the magical creator of Dark Ambient music Bill Laswell on bass and drones, and John Zorn on shofar and alto saxophone. Evocative and meditative, this is a rare and unique project that synthesizes Kabbalah, Mysticism and the hypnotic swirls of Dark Ambient music.

SeriesSpectrum Series 

By Catalogue Number:  TZ4004 

Release Date: September 2014