the concealed (2012)

Track Listing


Persepolis  4:03 
The Hidden Book  2:57 
Passage To Essentuki  3:45 
Pathway Of Fire  4:02
Towards Kafiristan  3:30 
Kavanah  5:03 
Back To Bokhara  5:25 
The Silver Thread  4:28 
The Dervish  6:33 
1Way Of The Sly Man  3:50 
Amu Darya  4:46 
Portrait Of Moses Cordero  5:37 
Visitation Of The Night Angels  4:09 
Life Is Real Only Then, When "I Am"  4:32


Joey Baron: Drums  
Trevor Dunn: Bass  
Mark Feldman: Violin  
Erik Friedlander: Cello  
John Medeski: Piano  
Kenny Wollesen: Vibes


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn
Produced by John Zorn
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed May 2012 at EastSide Sound, NYC by Marc Urselli
Mastering - Scott Hull
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)


Combining the sound of two of Zorn’s most popular and beloved groups, Bar Kokhba and The Dreamers, The Concealed is a sonic journey filled with surprise, elation and mystery. The latest volume in Zorn’s continuing series of 21st century mystical works features the dynamic quartet Nova Express augmented by the brilliant string masters Erik Friedlander and Mark Feldman creating a remarkable all-star sextet that combines and recombines into a variety of powerful small chamber ensembles. With arrangements ranging from solo pieces to trios, quartets and of course the lush exotic sound of the full sextet, the music is lyrical, enigmatic and stunningly beautiful.

Series:  Archival Series, Mystic Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8301

Release Date:  November 2012