the alchemist (2014)

Track Listing


The Alchemist  20:08
Earthspirit  12:57



Jay Campbell: Cello  
David Fulmer: Violia  
Mellissa Hughes: Voice  
Pauline Kim: Violin  
Jesse Mills: Violin  
Jane Sheldon: Voice  
Kirsten Sollek: Voice



Composer -  John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded And Mixed October 30, 2013 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound   
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Cover Image of Dr. John Lee by Heung-Heung Chin
Letter and Sigil by Dr. John Lee
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 
Inside still life photo courtesy Kunstk Ammer, George Lane, Munich


Zorn’s string quartets are some of the most important modern contributions to the canon and a new Zorn quartet is truly a cause for celebration. His sixth quartet is inspired by the hermetic Angelic actions of John Dee and is replete with the procedures of distillation, calcination, crystallization, sublimation, purification, rotation as well numerology, prayers, canons, contrapuntal complexity and the ghost of a familiar fugue. Also included is Zorn’s mystical response to the ancient Newgrange sacred site in Ireland, a beautiful and evocative setting of Amergin, one of the oldest Celtic sacred texts, written for three female voices.

Series:  Archival Series, Mystic Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8314

Release Date:  February 2014