talisman (2002)

Track Listing

1. Batrachophrenoboocosmomachia  31:58 
2. Transport Of Sorcerers  6:11 
3. Ahamkara  10:01


John Zorn:  Alto Saxophone, Vocals
Bill Laswell:   Bass
Mick Harris:  Drums, Vocals


All music composed, arranged by Painkiller  
Recorded live by Oz Fritz in Nagoya, Japan - 24 November 1994
Mastering - Scott Hull at Classic Sound, NYC
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) via Tomoko T.I. (KARATH=RAZAR)


Bringing together three of the most voracious and energetic musical minds in new music, Painkiller was one of the most intense live bands ever. Here they are captured at their absolute peak. Culminating their legendary 1994 tour of Japan in a masterful set featuring one of their longest and most inspired improvisations, the thirty-five minute Batrachophrenoboocosmomachia. Beautifully recorded by the unsung fourth member of the group sound engineer Oz Frith and packaged in deliriously original artwork, Talisman is a long awaited new release by one of the most original and unique sax/bass/drum trios in musical history.

Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ7342 

Release Date:  November 2002