songs for petra (2020)

Track Listing

1. Easy Time  3:47
2. Lost In The Rain  4:12 
3. Nothing  2:58
4. The Wind In The Clouds  2:53
5. It Was Innocent  3:14
6. Kafiristan  2:30
7. Waiting For Christmas  3:02
8. All This Time  2:58
9. Listen  2:51
10. Taking My Time  3:00
11. My Forbidden Tears  2:52
12. I Never Thought  1:52
13. Over Your Head  4:06


Petra Haden - Vocals 
Jesse Harris - Acoustic Guitar, Keys, Background Vocals 
Kenny Wollesen -  Drums
Julian Lage - Guitar 
Jorge Roedor -  Bass


All music composed by John Zorn 
All Lyrics by Jesse Harris
Producer - Jesse Harris 
Executive Producer - John Zorn
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed  by Vira Byramji at Secret Sun West, NYC
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (Heung Heung Chin) 
Petra Haden photos - Steven Perilloux
Band Photo - Vira Byramji


Singer Petra Haden excels in this beautiful and unique program of songs penned by the songwriting team of John Zorn and Jesse Harris. Friends for many years, they began working together on The Song Project in 2012, and eight years later this CD presents the full fruits of their collaboration: thirteen Zorn compositions with original lyrics by Jesse Harris. Including selections from a wide variety of Zorn CDs (and one original that has never appeared on CD before), the melodies are catchy, the lyrics heartfelt, the grooves deep and the solos profound and exhilarating. Backed by the amazing Julian Lage, Jorge Roeder and Kenny Wollesen and produced by Jesse Harris, this is a CD that you will listen to again and again.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8374 

Release Date:  August 21, 2020