simulacrum (2015)

Track Listing 

1. The Illusionist  12:02
2. Marmarath  5:18
3. Snakes And Ladders  5:28
4. Alterities  2:49
5. Paradigm Shift  4:35
6. The Divine Comedy  12:54


John Medeski: Organ 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums 
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kasunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed December 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Collages by John Zorn 
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


The most extreme organ trio ever, Simulacrum is yet another wild new direction from Downtown Alchemist John Zorn, who continues to explore new worlds and new ensembles into his sixth decade. 

Dramatic through-composed pieces that unfold with a cinematic logic, this genre bending music defies classification, touching upon metal, jazz, minimalism, atonality, noise and more. Passionately performed by an unusual all-star trio of John Medeski (MMW), Matt Hollenberg (Cleric) and Kenny this is powerful and fascinating music that highlights the MENTAL in experimental! Riveting!

Series:  Archival 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8330

Release Date:  March 2015