satyr's play / cerberus (2011)

Track Listing 

1. The Satyr's Play (Visions Of Dionysus) (2010)  26:33 
1-1 Ode I  3:48
1-2 Ode II  3:39
1-3 Ode III  2:54
1-4 Ode IV  3:50
1-5 Ode V  2:35
1-6 Ode VI  4:33
1-7 Ode VII. 3:36
1-8 Ode VIII  1:39

2. Cerberus (2010)  10.34


Cyro Baptista - Percussion (1)
Kenny Wollesen - Percussion (1)
Peter Evans - Trumpet (2)
David Taylor - Bass Trombone (2)
Marcus Rojas - Tuba (2)


All music composed,arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
The Satyr's Play : Recorded April and mixed July 2010, Cerberus Recorded January and mixed July 2010, at EastSide Sound, NYC by Marc Urselli 
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


Two dramatic new worlds in sound from our downtown Alchemist who continues to confound and defy expectations well into his fourth decade of recorded activity. Scored for two percussionists, The Satyr's Play is a dramatic work that mysteriously evokes the decadent excesses of Bacchanalia and Saturnalia. Presented in book form accompanied by a esoteric text beautifully illustrated with rare drawings by the great mystical artist Austin Osman Spare, this is a work of subtle nuance and sexuality. In contrast, Cerberus, is a flamboyant and dynamic trio for brass. A demonic piece featuring three undisputed Brass virtuosos, it jumps styles, moods 
and genres in classic Zorn fashion. Radical, moody and colorful chamber works for the 21st century.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7390 

Release Date:  April 2011