psychomagia (2014)

Track Listing

Metapsychomagia  7:31 
Sacred Emblems  3:02 
Circe  6:03 
Squaring The Circle  5:51 
Celestial Mechanism  2:32 
Evocation Of The Triumphant Beast  6:25 
Four Rivers  3:54 
The Nameless God  4:35 
Anima Mundi  4:14


Aram Bajakian: Guitar  
Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz: Bass  
Eyal Maoz: Guitar  
Kenny Grohowski: Drums


All music composed and arranged by John Zorn   
Produced by John Zorn   
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama   
Recorded December 2 and 3, 2013 by James Dellatacoma at Orange Sound
Mix Translation by Bill Laswell
Ink drawing by John Zorn
Collage by Joseph Cornell 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


"Psychomagia" is the new album by the fabulous quartet of Abraxas, the acclaimed tribal rock arrangements for the Book of Angels series. Here they perform a complex new suite of music written expressly for them by Downtown alchemist John Zorn. Drawing inspiration from the magical writings of Giordano Bruno and Alejandro Jodorowski and others, Zorn has written a bold collection of compositions that challenge the musicians to the breaking point. With a program ranging from some of the most intense ritualistic sounds you are likely to hear to tender minimalistic odes, this is a surprising new volume in Zorn’s mystic series that matches the intensity and power of Moonchild, PainKiller and Naked City. Recorded at Orange Music and mixed by Bill Laswell. Essential.

Series:  Archival Series, Mystic Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8313

Release Date:  February 2014