on leaves of grass (2014)

Track Listing

1. Whispers Of Heavenly Death  5:36 
2. Song At Sunset  3:22 
3. Halcyon Days  4:26 
4. Portals  4:03 
5. Sea Drift  5:10
6. Song Of The Open Road  3:48
7. The Body Electric  2:55
8. Mystic Cyphers  4:31
9. America  14.24


Joey Baron: Drums 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
John Medeski: Piano 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibes


Composed, Arranged, Conducted - John Zorn
Producer -  John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed March 16-17, 2014 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Cover Image by Samuel Hollyer
Photograph by George Cox
dried flowers courtesy of Emily Dickinson
Design by Chippy (HHC) 


Following up on the success of 2013’s “Dreamachines”, the third release by the brilliant quartet Nova Express is inspired by and dedicated to American poetic genius and father of free verse Walt Whitman. Combining the hypnotic swirls of minimalism, the free intensity of improvisation and a soaring lyricism, “On Leaves of Grass” is an exhilarating addition to Zorn’s growing collection of mystical transcendental works. An emotional and virtuosic outing from this Downtown supergroup performing music that speaks to the eternal.

Series:  Archival Series 

By Catalogue Number:  TZ8320 

Release Date: August 5, 2014