nove cantici per francesco d'assisi (2019)

Track Listing: 

1. Brother Sun, Sister Moon  4:06 
2. Admonitions  4:22
3. Nativity  4:32 
4. Laudes Creaturarum  2:36 
5. Poor Clares  4:07 
6. Sister Death  5:18
7 .Mother Earth  3:33 
8. Le Laudi  5:09 
9. Fioretti  3:37 
10. Meditations (Saint Francis In The Desert)  7:06


Julian Lage - Guitar 
Gyan Riley - Guitar
Bill Frisell - Guitar


All music composed by John Zorn 
All music produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed January 29 & 30, 2019 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastering by Scott Hull 
Cover - St. Francis In The Desert by Giovanni BELLINI, @ The Frick Museum
Inlay portrait of St. Francis by Jusepe de RIBERA
Inner Left Panel - St. Francis and scenes from his life - 19th Century
Inner Right Panel - The Ecstasy of St. Francis by Stefano di GIOVANNI
Design - Chippy (HHC) 
Special thanks to Rika BURNHAM


Composed for a museum residency at the Frick in New York City, Nove Cantici is a beautiful suite of music inspired by the life and thought of the beloved spiritual figure Saint Francis of Assisi. A fitting follow-up to the beautiful and moody acoustic guitar CD Midsummer Moons from 2017, here the astounding guitar duo of Julian Lage and Gyan Riley is expanded to a trio with the addition of legendary guitarist Bill Frisell. Ten lovely, spiritual compositions for meditation and contemplation performed by three of the most renown guitarists in the world. An essential release that will appeal to perhaps the widest audience Zorn has ever had.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8364

Release Date:  June 2019