new masada quartet volume two (2023)

Track Listing

1. Katzatz  4:17
2. Idalah-Abal  7:06
3. Rahtiel  9:04
4. Jair  4:29
5.  Abidan  7:04
6. Ne'eman  7:09
7. Achshaph  3:26


John Zorn: Alto Sax 
Julian Lage: Guitar 
Jorge Roeder: Bass 
Kenny Wollenson: Drums 


Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed November 27, 2022 by Ryan Streber at Oktaven, Mount Vernon, NY
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Collage by John Zorn 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 
Special Thanks to Kenny Goldsmith and Jeremy Vogel for their liner notes


The long awaited first recording by John Zorn’s newest and most exciting ensemble, the New Masada Quartet. Performing eight classic compositions from the Masada songbooks, NMQ is a tight unit of like-minded virtuosi and one of the best groups Zorn has ever had. Bristling hot guitar master Julian Lage, bass wizard Jorge Roeder and 30-year Zorn veteran Kenny Wollesen perform with a crackling live energy that brings the Masada music to life like never before! Led by Zorn’s versatile sax and stop and start conducting, the music is filled with burning solos, telepathic group interaction, heartfelt lyricism and hypnotic grooves. Beautifully recorded at Bill Laswell’s studio in New Jersey this is an absolute masterpiece. Essential! 

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8396

Release Date:  March 10, 2023