Multiplicities: A Repository of Non-Existent Objects (2022)

Track Listing

1. Perceptors  2:02
2. Ariadne  4:23 
3. Erewhon  2:50 
4. Lines of Flight  5:32 
5. Conundrum  2:12 
6. Meinong's Jungle  3:03 
7. Virtualities  3:55 
8. Functives  6:14 
9. The Nidus  7:43 
10. Succession  3:48 


John Medeski - Hammond Organ
Brian Marsella - Fender Rhodes Piano 
Matt Hollenberg - Guitar
Kenny Grohowski - Drums


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded July 6-7 and Mixed July 26 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Opening Narration on Functives by Gilles Deleuze
Design by (Chippy) Heung Heung Chin 


Multiplicities: A Repository of Non-Existent Objects is book of twenty new Zorn compositions in the form of musical aphorisms. Inspired by the writings and thought of French philosopher Gilles Deleuze, the music is wildly imaginative and meticulously structured, filled with unexpected twists and turns jumping from rock, jazz, and classical, to funk, metal, and more. This first volume presents the first ten aphorisms performed by Zorn’s dynamic new ensemble Chaos Magick. John Medeski, Brian Marsella, Matt Hollenberg, and Kenny Grohowski (four members of Zorn’s innermost circle) perform with an intense passion and painstaking attention to detail. Filled with fiery solos and bizarre juxtapositions, this is a multifaceted exploration of instrumental music at its wildest extremes.

Series Archival Series 

Catalogue NumberTZ8393 

Release Date:  October 28, 2022

View In The Shop