mount analogue (2012)

Track Listing 

1. Mount Analogue  38:21


Cyro Baptista - Percussion, Prayer Bells, Vocals 
Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz -  Bass, Oud, Gimbri, Vocals 
Tim Keiper -  Calabash, Drums, Percussion, Orchestral Bells, Vocals 
Brian Marsella -  Piano, Organ, Vocals 
Kenny Wollesen -  Vibraphone, Chimes, Vocals


Composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded June 13-15 and mixed September 2011 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NY
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Painting by Remedios Varo - The Ascension of Mount Analogue
Diagrams by René Daumal
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


Drawing inspiration from the life and work of the towering spiritual figure Georges Ivanovitch Gurdjieff, Mount Analogue is one of Zorn’s greatest creations. Taking the form of a mystical journey, the music jumps from one world to another weaving a rich tapestry that blends world music, jazz, contemporary classical and more. Featuring Cyro Baptista’s fabulous quartet Banquet of the Spirits augmented by the brilliant Kenny Wollesen on vibes, this is the latest volume in Zorn’s mystic series, and a major new extended composition. Described as aural cinema, even after thirty years Zorn’s file card pieces have never been equalled. A masterwork!

Series:  Archival SeriesMystic Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7394 

Release Date:  January 2012