Magick (2004)

Track Listing:

1. Conjurations  2:46
2. The Magus  6:25 
3. Thought Forms  3:08 
4. Incunabula  7:14 
5. Asmodeus  3:03 
6. Sortilège  8:54


Tim Smith: Bass Clarinet 
Mike Lowenstern: Bass Clarinet

Crowley Quartet
Jennifer Choi: Violin 
Fred Sherry: Cello
Jesse Mills: Violin 
Richard O'Neill: Viola


Composed by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Recorded by Silas Brown at Hit Factory, NYC
Edited and Mixed by Silas Brown by Silas Brown 
Mastered by Scott Hull at Hit Factory Mastering, NYC
K2 Technology by JVC Disc America
Cover: Gustav Dore
Inlay painting The Alchemist in Search of the Philosopher's Stone 1771 by Joseph Wright 
Design - Heung-Heung Chin 
Special Thanks to Zoe Thrall


Further explorations into the worlds of Magick and Alchemy, here featuring the long awaited premiere recording of Zorn's new string quartet. Necronomicon is a transcendent five movement work of unparalleled ensemble virtuosity and formal beauty, brilliantly played by the Crowley Quartet. Also included is an astounding piece of witchcraft and sorcery for two bass clarinets, one of the most difficult yet written for the instrument, performed with passion and precision by two of the greatest players in the world.

Series:  Composer Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8006 

Release Date:  October 2004