lemma (2013)

Track Listing 

Apophthegms 2012  20:56
first set 
1. i  0:45 
2. ii  1:07 
3. iii  1:44 
4. iv  1:23 
5. v  1:34 
6. vi  1:50 
second set 
7. vii  2:41 
8. viii  1:49 
9. ix  2:05 
10. x  1:20 
11. xi  1:55 
12. xii  2:47 

David Fulmer: Violin  
Chris Otto: Violin

Recorded and mixed December 2012 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

Passagen 2011   14:19
13. Passagen  14:19 

Pauline Kim: Violin  

Recorded and mixed July 2012 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC

Ceremonial Magic 2011  19:12
14. i  5:27 
15. ii  4:05 
16. iii  5:51 
17. iv  3:49

David Fulmer: Violin  

Recorded and mixed May 2012 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC


David Fulmer: Violin 
Pauline Kim: Violin 
Chris Otto: Violin


Composed by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Artwork - John Zorn
Design - Heung-Heung Chin 


Zorn’s virtuosic string music is legendary and this CD focuses on his compositions for violin. Two major new works for solo violin—Passagen (based on the legendary B-A-C-H motif) and Ceremonial Magic (which appeared on Rimbaud in a duo realization with drums but here is presented as a virtuoso solo piece); and an enigmatic suite of 12 miniatures for 2 violins entitled Apophthegms. Featuring three incredible young virtuosos: Pauline Kim, David Fulmer and Chris Otto, Lemma is a CD of wildly imaginative string music performed with passion and fiery intensity.

Series:  Composer Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8095 

Release Date:  February 2013