insurrection (2018)

Track Listing

1. The Recognitions  3:41 
2. Pulsations  8:26 
3. A Void  4:50 
4. Mason And Dixon  5:04 
5. Progeny  2:33 
6. The Journal Of Albion Moonlight  6:55 
7. The Atrocity Exhibition  4:44 
8. The Unnameable  3:12 
9. Cat's Cradle  3:07 
10. Nostromo  3:47


Trevor Dunn: Bass 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums 
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar 
Julian Lage: Guitar


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded December 12 and 13, 2017 and mixed January 3, 2018 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastering by Scott Hull, NYC 
Collage By John Zorn
Obi Photo and Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


“Insurrection” is an intense new instrumental project featuring guitar wizards Julian Lage and Matt Hollenberg with the incredible rhythm section of Trevor Dunn and Kenny Grohowski. Inspired by some of the greatest experimental novels of the 20th century the music is incredibly varied, combining rock, funk, blues, jazz, classical and more—often in the same song! Gnarly atonal melodies, bizarre harmonies, astonishing guitar fireworks and telepathic group interaction make this one of Zorn’s most scintillating and adventurous new projects. Everyone is playing at their best here, and you have never heard such sounds! As always Zorn pulls the very best out of the musicians and they play some of the most outrageous solos you have ever heard. Essential!

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8359 

Release Date:  April 2018

View In The Shop