inferno (2015)

Track Listing 

1. Dance Of Death  5:53 
2. Pariah  3:15 
3. Ghost Sonata  6:25 
4. Inferno  20:57 
5. Blasphemy  2:01 
6. The Powers  2:51 
7. Dreamplay  3:50


John Medeski: Organ 
Kenny Grohowski: Drums 
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar


Composed, Arranged and Conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed May - June 2015 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Artwork - John Zorn 
Design - Heung-Heung Chin 


The third CD from Zorn’s most dangerous new instrumental ensemble is inspired by the work and thought of Swedish playwright, poet, painter, philosopher, novelist, alchemist and occultist August Strindberg, whose dark brooding visions were a precursor to expressionism, surrealism and more. Featuring the long form composition “Inferno,” named after one of Srindberg’s most startling texts, the music touches upon metal, jazz, minimalism, atonality, ambient and more. White hot burning intensity from the mind of downtown NY’s eternally youthful hell-raiser performed by a virtuoso trio forged from the worlds of jazz and metal.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8336 

Release Date:  September 2015