in search of the miraculous (2010)

Track Listing 

Prelude: From A Great Temple  4:15
Sacred Dance (Invocation)  4:47
The Book Of Shadows  5:14
Affirmation  5:05
The Magus  9:08
Hymn For A New Millennium  5:31
Journey Of The Magicians  4:03
Mythic Etude  7:27
Postlude: Prayers And Enchantment  5:58


Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz: Electric Bass  
Rob Burger: Piano, Organ  
Greg Cohen: Acoustic Bass  
Ben Perowsky: Drums  
Kenny Wollesen: Vibraphone


Composer, Arranger, Producer, Conductor -  John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Greg Cohen and Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded And Mixed Sept/Oct 2009 by Marc Urselli
Mastered by Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 
Painting by J.M.W. Turner
Photo By Scott Irvine



Inspired by esoteric spiritual practices, white magic, ritual, traditional myths and ancient legends, Zorn brings together a life long interest in mysticism with powerful lyricism to fashion this dynamic and evocative series of Odes for the New Millennium. Featuring the landmark extended composition The Magus, one of Zorn's most exciting new works, the music takes on a scintillating new edge—dramatic, hypnotic and mysterious. Performed by the remarkable Alhambra Trio enhanced by special guests Kenny Wollesen on vibraphone, Carol Emanuel on harp and Shanir Blumenkranz on Fender bass, In Search of the Miraculous is a deeply moving listening experience—ecstatic music for young and old that touches on the sublime!


Series:  Archival Series 


Catalogue Number:  TZ7379

Release Date:  February 2010