IAO (2002)

Track Listing 

1. Invocation  7:19 
2. Sex Magick  13:26 
3. Sacred Rites Of The Left Hand Path  6:31 
4. The Clavicle Of Solomon  9:28 
5. Lucifer Rising  5:23 
6. Leviathan  3:26 
7. Mysteries  5:50


Cyro Baptista 
Jennifer Charles 
Greg Cohen 
Beth Anne Hatton 
Bill Laswell 
Rebecca Moore 
Mike Patton 
Jim Pugliese 
Jamie Saft 
John Zorn


Composed by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Assistant Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded by Jamie Saft at Frank Booth 
Mastered by Scott Hull at Classic Sound
Dedicated to Kenneth Anger
Design - Heung-Heung Chin


The name IAO is Kabbalistically identical to the Beast and his number 666. In the tradition of Zorn’s longform studio compositions Godard, Spillane, Elegy, Kristallnacht and Duras, yet completely unique in form and content, IAO is a hypnotic seven-movement suite of Alchemy, Mysticism, Metaphysics and Magic both black and white. Inspired in part by the esoteric works of Aleister Crowley and his magickal disciple, filmmaker Kenneth Anger, the seven movements range from hypnotic exotica, ritualistic percussion and death metal to ambient, electronica and a stunning piece for female chorus. As varied and listenable as The Gift and as perplexing as Songs from the Hermetic Theater, IAO is a major new work by downtown’s master of the unexpected.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7338

Release Date:  May 2002