ganryu island (1984)

Track Listing Original LP

1. Ryu Kyu Heishi (Warrior From Ryu Kyu)  6:09
2. Haguregumo (The Wanderer)  14:10
3. Two Ronin  3:49
4. Kagemusha  10:39
5. Odori Dayu (Evening Dance Of A Courtesan)  5:16
6. Ganryu Island  11:09
7. Yoshiwara Kaidan (Ghosts Of The Geisha)  3:30

Track Listing CD
1. Ryukyu Heishi  6:12
2. Haguregumo  14:14
3. Two Ronin  3:53
4. Kagemusha  10:37
5. Odori Dayu  5:31
6. Ganryu Island  11:11
7. Yoshiwara Kaidan  3:27
8. Natsu Matsuri  5:31
9. Girl  5:29
10. Yonaka No Hatashiai  2:07
11. Uma No Koku  2:39
12. Tsugaru Bushido  4:33


John Zorn - Reeds
Sato Michihiro - Shamisen


Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama
Recorded at Radio City Studio by Don Hunerberg. Nov. 23, 1984)
Mastered by Allan Tucker at Foothill Digital, NYC
Cover design by Mare Earley
Reissue Design bu Ikue Mori
Special thanks to Yale Eveley


Released in a limited edition on the Yukon label back in 1984 and out of print for well over a decade, Ganryu Island has been hailed as one of the most successful recorded meetings of "East And West." Named after a small island off the coast of Japan where legendary samurai Miyamoto Musashi and Sasaki Kojiro met for the first and last time, John Zorn's meeting with Tsugaru shamisen master Sato Michihiro is at once surprising, dramatic, hilarious and revelatory. 
The original release plus 5 never-heard-before out-takes altogether presents the historic 1984 session complete on one CD.
Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue NumberTZ7319 

Release Date:  1998 (Tzadik) 

Previous Releases

Yukon Records, 1984 (2101) 

Yukon Records LP