Forro Zinho - Forro In The Dark Plays Zorn

Track Listing

1. Uluwati  3:32 
2. Novato  3:43 
3. Forro Zinho  5:03
4. Life Is Real Only Then When “I Am”  2:46 
5. Shaolin Bossa  3:22 
6. Sunset Surfer  3:14
7. Zavebe  4:45 
8. Ode To Delphi  4:29 
9. Tempo De Festa  4:37
10. Annabel  2:02 
11. The Quiet Surf  3:14 


Jorge Continentino -   Flutes, Pifanos, Vocals, Tenor and Baritone Saxes
Guilherme Monteiro -   Electric Guitar
Mauro Refosco -   Zabumba,  Vibes, Synare, Percussion
Rea Mochiach -   Bass, Percussion, Fun Machine
Vitor Gonçalves -   Accordion on 2,5,9
Sofei Rei -   Guest Vocals on 8, 11
Jesse Harris -   Vocals on 8, Whistling on 4
Marcos Valle -   Guest Vocals and Wurlitzer on 5


All music composed by John Zorn
Produced by Jesse Harris and Forro In The Dark
Executive Producer - John Zorn
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama
Recorded at SuperLegal Studios, Brooklyn, NY, Monoaural Studios, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Additionl recording by Bernard Ceppas
Engineered and Mixed by Jon Silverman
Mastered by Scott Hull
Obi Photo by Jesse Harris
Thanks to David Lobel, Andres Levin, Bernard Ceppas


There has never been a Zorn CD like this one! One of the most exciting bands to come out of the wild late night Nublu scene in the East VIllage, Forro in the Dark combines the driving dance rhythms of forro from Northeastern Brazil with rock, jazz, reggae, folk and country. Here they take on some of Zorn's most lyrical and grooving compositions to create a charming CD of Brazilian-tinged dance music. Endlessly listenable, this is a CD filled with catchy hooks, burning solos, driving rhythms and infectious Zorn melodies, new and old. Produced by Jesse Harris and featuring Brazilian legend Marcos Valle as a special guest.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue NumberTZ8334 

Release Date:  July 2015