filmworks xxv - City Of Slaughter/Schmatta/Beyond The Infinite (2013)

Track Listing 

1. The End Of Tradition  3:40
2. The Oath  2:13
3. Modernity  1:27 
4. Island/Ghetto  2:35 
5. New Choices  2:11
6. Revolution  3:33 
7. New Currents  2:43
8. Loss  1:53
9. Hopes and Dreams  1.34
10. The Bund  2:33
11. City Of Slaughter  4:44
12. Anti-Semitism/Pogrom  1:24
13. Pale Of Settlement  3:03
14. Requiem  2:53
15. Schmatta  1:41
16. Pins And Needles  3:12
17. Collapse  3:06
18. Hanging By A Thread  2:58
19. Beyond The Infinite  8:19


Rob Burger: Piano 
Omri Mor: Piano
John Zorn: Piano


All Music Composed by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama 
Tracks 1-14 recorded and mixed May 11, 2012 by Marc Urselli at Eastside Sound, NYC 
Tracks 15-18 recorded and mixed June 15, 2009 by Marc Urselli at Eastside Sound, NYC
Track 19 recorded and mixed December 2009 by Marc Urselli at Eastside Sound, NYC
Mastering by Scott Hull 
All photos courtesy of the directors (used by permission) 
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 
Special Thanks to Robert Rodriguez, Mary Bronson. Oren Rudavsky, Marc Levin and Marc Urselli


The first FilmWorks CD in almost three years (and perhaps the very last in the series) features three radically different musics for solo piano. Commissioned to create music for video installations in Moscow’s Museum of Jewish History, Zorn has responded with a poignant Jewish-tinged score performed here by the virtuosic Israeli pianist Omri Mor. Also included is Rob Burger’s beautiful solo piano performance of Zorn’s landmark composition Beyond the Infinite (from The Goddess) and four rare film cues improvised by Zorn himself for Marc Levin’s documentary Schmatta. An intimate and varied collection of music for solo piano.

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8305 

Release Date:  January 2013