filmworks xviii: the treatment (2006)

Track Listing 

1. The Treatment  3:34
2. Romance  5:09
3. Why Me?  3:56
4. Family  2:14
5. Marking Time  4:52
6. Anxieties  4:59
7. Freud's Rondo  4:24
8. Totem And Taboo  6:53
9. Rush Hour  3:46
10. Bad Dreams  1:18
11. Uncertainty  6:23
12. Happy Ending  2:44


Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz: Bass 
Rob Burger: Accordion 
Mark Feldman: Violin 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibraphone 

Special Guest 
Marc Ribot: Guitar (Tracks 4, 10)


All Music Composed, Arranged and Conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed by Jamie Saft at Frank Booth, NYC November 2005 
Mastering by Scott Hull 
All photos courtesy of the director (used by permission) 
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


For Oren Rudavsky’s new romantic comedy, Zorn has put together a new quartet with a fresh new sound. Drawing upon the modern tango of Piazzolla with a touch of minimalism, this dynamic quartet of violin, accordion, vibes and bass is modern instrumental music at its creative best. At times upbeat and humorous, at times dark and moody, the music combines a soaring lyricism with interlocking counterpoint and complex rhythmic tapestries. Featuring guitar genius Marc Ribot in a supportive role on several tracks, this is one of Zorn’s finest scores. A remarkable listening experience from start to finish.

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7355 

Release Date:  April 2006