filmworks xv: Protocols of zion (2005)

Track Listing 

1. Protocols Of Zion  4:27
2. Searching For A Pas  t5:21
3. Jew Watcher  2:44
4. Mystery Of The Jew  4:09
5. History Repeats Itself  2:14
6. Arab And Jew  5:59
7. Fighting Time  5:02
8. Hollywood / Rikers  2:37
9. Elders Of Zion  5:25
10. Dark Future  4:31
11. Transition 1  0:30
12. Transition 2  0:17
13. Transition 3  0:30
14. Transition 4  0:25
15. Coda - The Metaphysics Of Anti-Semitism  1:46


Cyro Baptista: Percussion 
Shanir Ezra Blumenkranz: Bass, Oud 
John Zorn: Electric Pianos


All Music Composed and Arranged by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama
Recorded by Dan Stein at Frank Booth, Brooklyn, NY October 2004
Mixed by Jamie Saft
Mastering by Scott Hull at Hit Factory Mastering, NYC
All Photos courtesy of the director (used by permission)
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)


Working fast and loose with a small unit of close friends, Zorn has created a sensitive and intimate score for a dynamic new documentary film on a controversial subject: the rise of anti semitism after 9/11. Featuring hypnotic grooves and ominous moods, there is an unsettling feeling throughout this score that is in part due to the subject matter, but heightened by Zorn’s unique keyboard stylings. Here for the first time are extended improvisations, spontaneous compositions and thoughtful ramblings by one of the world’s maverick composers. In the tradition of “composers at the piano” recordings (Mingus, Bacharach, Ives), this CD is a fascinating peek into the inner ear of Zorn the composer. One can literally hear him thinking, developing ideas aloud, aided by the most supportive possible environment in the person of Cyro Baptista, Zorn’s longest musical associate—they have been working together consistently since 1981—and Shanir Blumenkranz, the young bass player from Satlah, Rashanim and Pharaoh’s Daughter. A must for any Zorn fan, this is one of Zorn’s most interesting, enjoyable and personal recordings.

Series:  Filmworks, Archival Series 

Catalogue NumberTZ7345 

Release Date:  February 2005