filmworks xiii: invitation to a suicide (2002)

Track Listing 

1. Invitation To A Suicide  4:38 
2. Musette Waltz  4:21 
3. Shifting Sands  4:12 
4. East Greenpoint Rundown  4:08 
5. Time Twist  3:39 
6. The Suicide Kid  4:08 
7. Billet Doux  1:43 
8. Suicide Blues Pt. 1  4:15 
9. Trance Dance  3:13 
10. Lonely Are The Dumb  2:45 
11. Moon Moods  1:58 
12. Bugsy's Jazztet  2:12 
13. Suicide Blues Pt. 2  3:44 
14. Roary's Waltz  2:56 
15. Getting Suicidal  1:39 
16. Final Retribution  2:50 
17. Aftermath  3:09 
18. Unjust Reward  1:36


Rob Burger: Accordion 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
Erik Friedlander: Cello 
Marc Ribot: Guitar 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibraphone, Marimba, Drums


All Music Composed, Arranged and Conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed by Jamie Saft at Frank Booth, Brooklyn, NY 
Mastering by Scott Hull at Classic Sound, NYC 
All Photos courtesy of the director (used by permission) 
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


2002 proves to be a watershed year for Zorn, with this being his fifth film score in three months. Here, a taste of Ennio Morricone, Astor Piazzola, French musette and Nino Rota make up what is perhaps his greatest film score to date. At times bizarre, haunting, exhilarating and powerful, the lush sonorities of this dynamic group will surprise you as much as it did Zorn himself. A romantic new lyricism. A remarkable new direction. Unexpected, inevitable and absolutely essential.

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7341

Release Date:  September 2002