John Zorn – Filmworks X: In The Mirror Of Maya Deren (2001)

Track Listing: 

1. Drifting  12:12
2. Dancing  5:12
3. Kiev  13:57
4. Teiji’s Time  2:16
5. Nostalgia  13:41
6. Filming  5:51
7. Mirror Worlds  1:50
8. Nightscape  2:27
9. Nostalgia  24:2
11. 0Haiti  2:34
11. Kiev  24:42
12. Voudoun  3:27
13. Drifting   22:12
14. Kiev  34:33
15. Drifting  32:16


Cyro Baptista: Percussion 
Erik Friedlander: Cello 
Jamie Saft: Piano, Organ, Wurlitzer 
John Zorn: Piano (1,7,13,15), Percussion (4,7)


All Music Composed by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed by Jamie Saft at Frank Booth, Brooklyn, NY 
Mastering by Allan Tucker at Foothill Digital, NYC 
All Photos courtesy of Martin Kudláćek and Alexander Hammid (used by permission)
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


Hypnotic, sensual and evocative music for Martina Kudlacek’s brilliant and detailed documentary on the life and work of underground film legend Maya Deren. Mixing myth and ritual with avant-garde dance and film techniques, Maya forged a creative language that continues to resound in the very best of today’s experimental artists. The music here moves from nostalgia to mystery, capturing the many moods of Maya’s life and art. Performed by Erik Friedlander, Jamie Saft and Cyro Baptista, In the Mirror of Maya Deren also features the unique piano stylings of John Zorn over three dreamy string arrangements. From Klezmer to classical, Haitian drumming to Indonesian gamelan, easy listening to minimalism, this score is one of Zorn’s most beautiful and touching listening experiences.

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7333

Release Date:  August 2001