filmworks ix (2000)

Track Listing 

1. Trembling Before G-d  2:25 
2. Mahshav (Solo Piano)  5:01 
3. Tashlikh  4:26 
4. Yechida  0:54 
5. Idalah-Abal  7:49 
6. Simen Tov / Mazel Tov  1:25 
7. Sholom Aleichem  1:12 
8. Notarikon  4:11 
9. Maskil  3:25 
10. Trembling Before G-d (Solo Organ)  2:51 
11. Mahshav (Duo)  8:26 
12. Desert Montage  1:45 
13. Kaporeh  3:25 
14. Tashlikh (Fast)  2:18 
15. Nigun  2:02 
16. Trembling Before G-d (Intro)  3:13 
17. End Titles  6:01 
18. Kaporeh (Solo Piano)  4:18


Rob Burger: Accordion 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
Erik Friedlander: Cello 
Marc Ribot: Guitar 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibraphone, Marimba, Drums 


All Music Composed and Arranged by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer:  Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed by Jamie Saft at Frank Booth, Brooklyn, NY 
Mastering by Allan Tucker at Foothill Digital, NYC 
All Photos courtesy of the director (used by permission) 
Design by Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


Zorn’s first soundtrack in three years is a dark and moody setting for a controversial documentary about the Gay Hasidic community. The score for Trembling Before G-d features two of the most inventive and creative musicians out of the burgeoning Brooklyn scene: Jamie Saft on organ and piano and Chris Speed on clarinet, with a special guest appearance by Filmworks regular Cyro Baptista. Over sixty minutes of beautiful and haunting Jewish music, including several pieces from Zorn’s popular book of Masada compositions.

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7331 

Release Date:  December 2000