filmworks iv: S/M + More (1997)

Track Listing: 

1. Pueblo  9:05 
2. Elegant Spanking  14:22 
3. Credits Included  9:38 
4. Maogai  6:20 
5. A Lot Of Fun For The Evil One  17:48 


Marc Ribot: Guitar (1)
Robert Quine: Guitar (1)
Anthony Coleman: Organ (1)
Chris Wood: Bass (1)
Cyro Baptista: Percussion (1)
Joey Baron - Drums (1)
Carol Emanuel - Harp (2)
Jill Jaffee - Viola (2)
Erik Friedlander - Cello (2)
Jim Pugliese - Vibes, Percussion (2)
John Zorn - Sound Design (3), Keyboards (5)
Kuroda Kyoko - Solo Piano (4)


All Music Composed and arranged by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama, David Newgarden
Published by Musical Optics
Mastering by Allan Tucker at Foothill Digital, NYC 
Cover Design by Tomoyo T.L. (Karath = Razar)
Notes by John Zorn
Typesetting by Lisa Wells
All photos courtesy of the directors (used by permission)
"WASTE" photographs by Gail Mitchell
"EVIL ONE" photographs by Bill Miller
Illiustration by Harukuwa Namio


Volume 4 in Zorn's acclaimed and best-selling Filmworks series focuses on his work in the intriguing S&M film genre. Zorn's relationship with the S&M film community has sparked controversy, but the films he's been involved with have been screened by such respected establishments as the New York Film Festival, Asia Society, and the Sundance Festival. 

Included here are a solo sampler composition for Mn Sarah's A Lot Of Fun For The Evil One, a hypnotic trance piece for KimSu Theiler's Pueblo, a suite and variations for solo piano from Hiroke Yuichi's Japanese porno film Maogai (Sadistic City), an unusual sound-design for Lebanese writer Jalal Toufic's experimental documentary Credits Included, and the score for Maria Beatty's Elegant Spanking, which was a blueprint for Zorn's extended composition Redbird (Tzadik 7008).

Series:  FilmworksArchival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ7310

Release Date:  1997