dreammachines (2013)

Track Listing

1. Psychic Conspirators  3:18
2. Git-Le-Coeur  4:27
3. The Conqueror Worm  6:58
4. The Third Mind  6:34
5. Light Chapels  5:20
6. The Dream Machine. 5:58
7. Note Virus  3:31
8. 1001 Nights In Marrakech  6:30
9. The Wild Boys  3:26


Joey Baron: Drums 
Trevor Dunn: Bass 
John Medeski: Piano 
Kenny Wollesen: Vibraphone


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and mixed by Marc Urselli April 2013 at EastSide Sound
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (Heung Heung Chin) 
Art by Brion Gysin from the collection of John Zorn
Special thanks to Pat Metheny and Kathelin Gray


Zorn’s work has been deeply influenced by the work of Gysin and Burroughs, beginning in the late ’60s when he first became aware of their art, writing and revolutionary techniques of third mind collaboration. Dreamachines celebrates this connection with nine compositions combining the quirky atonality of Zorn’s classical music, the cut-up techniques of Naked City and the soulful lyricism of the Masada songbook. A companion piece to Nova Express (2011), the music is incredibly varied and jumps from tonality to atonality with dramatic surprise. Another complex and intense program of modern chamber music performed by an all-star quartet of virtuosos from Zorn’s inner circle.

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8308

Release Date:  July 30, 2013