calculus (2020)

Track Listing

1. The Ghost Of Departed Quantities  22:21
2. Parabolas  19:21 


Brain Marsella - Piano
Trevor Dunn - Bass 
Kenny Wollesen - Drums


All music composed and arranged by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded January 10, 2020 and Mixed January 11, 2020 by Ryan Streber at Oktaven, NY
Mastering - Scott Hull
Obi Photo - Edin Zubcevic
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin) 


Calculus is another radical step forward for Zorn—two major 20-minute long-form compositions scored for piano trio. Featuring the incredible young pianist Brian Marsella along with the dynamic rhythm section of Trevor Dunn and Kenny Wollesen, this is a complex and exhilarating display of instrumental virtuosity at its most extreme. Drawing upon all of Zorn’s musical obsessions, from thorny atonality to touching minimalism, burning jazz, funk, folk, exotica, ambient, noise and more, this is some of the most ambitious and expansive music ever created for jazz piano trio. Passionately performed by three core members of Zorn’s inner circle Calculus is an outrageous and kaleidocopic journey into the unknown!

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8371

Release Date:  May 22, 2020