baphomet (2020)

Track Listing

1. Baphomet  39:07


Matt Hollenberg - Guitar 
John Medeski - Organ, Clavinet
Kenny Grohowski - Drums 


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recording, Mixing 02/22 -24, 2020 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (HHC) 
Baphomet Engraving - Eliphas Levi
Collages - John Zorn


Baphomet is a masterpiece! One epic 40-minute long-form composition touching upon all of Zorn’s musical obsessions from classical atonality, minimalism, jazz, metal, punk, funk, improvisation, exotica and more. Passionately performed by Simulacrum, his most powerful 20th century ensemble, the music has a dramatic cinematic expanse and is filled with new sounds, unexpected directions, virtuosic solos, bizarre structural complexities and ever surprising melodic and harmonic twists and turns. Baphomet is a courageous new step for Zorn, and a spectacular culmination to his 30-year exploration of the nexus that connects hardcore punk, progressive metal and jazz. Essential!

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8372 

Release Date:  June 26, 2020