Azoth (2020)

Track Listing:  

1. Shapeshifter (Take One) <2016>. 8:02 
2. Autumn Rhythm <2015>. 11:38 
3. Diableries <2016>. 11;45  
4. As Above, So Below <2017>. 6:06 
5. Shapeshifter (Take Two) <2016>. 8:02 


Michael Nicolas - Cello 
Jay Campbell - Cello 
Jorge Roeder - Bass 
Ches Smith - Drums  


All music composed by John Zorn  
Produced by John Zorn  
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama  
Recorded and mixed July 31, 2020 by Ryan Streber at Oktaven Audio, Mount Vernon, NY 
line Producers - Jay Campbell, Michael Nicolas 
Mastering - Scott Hull  
Design - Chippy (Heung Heung Chin)  
Baphomet Engraving - Eliphas Levi  
Notes - John Zorn  

TZADIK Blurb  

Jay Campbell (JACK Quartet) and Michael Nicolas (Brooklyn Rider) are two of the greatest cellists in new music. Long-time members of Zorn’s inner circle, here they perform four compositions written expressly for them. Featuring two works for solo cello and two works for cello and rhythm section, the music is filled with spectacular leaps, intense textures, dizzying tremolos, hypnotic ostinatos, scordatura and more! As always, Zorn pushes the envelope of what is technically possible on the instrument and Mike and Jay come to the plate full force, exhibiting a new level of virtuosity in these breathtaking and dramatic works. With Ches Smith on drums and Jorge Roeder on bass this is a cello recital unlike any other! 

Series:  Archival Series  

Catalogue Number:  TZ8375 

Release Date:  November 13, 2020