49 Acts Of Unspeakable Depravity In The Abominable Life And Times Of Gilles De Rais (2016)

Track Listing


Scene 1: At The Very Gates Of Hell  3:18 
Scene 2: Angelic Voices  4:17 
Scene 3: And To The Brimstone, Fire  3:25 
Scene 4: Dark Pageant  3:36 
Scene 5: The Terragrammaton Labyrinth  3:02 
Scene 6: A Cruel Ecstasy  3:24 
Scene 7: Image Of The Beast  2:53 
Scene 8: Dance Macabre  5:30 
Scene 9: Descent Into Madness  7:35 
Scene 10: The Holy Innocents  5:00


John Medeski: Organ  
Kenny Grohowski: Drums  
Matt Hollenberg: Guitar


All music composed, arranged, and conducted by John Zorn  
Produced by John Zorn  
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama  
Recorded And Mixed February 2016 at EastSide Sound by Marc Urselli 
Mastered by Scott Hull at Masterdisk
Design - Chippy (Heung-Heung Chin)


"49 Acts of Unspeakable Depravity in the Abominable Life and Times of Gilles de Rais" is the fifth CD by Simulacrum, an organ trio of unparalleled power that brings the sounds of heavy metal, blues, funk and jazz together with modern classical music. Tighter than ever and able to stop and start at breakneck speed, Medeski, Hollenberg and Grohowski are at their raging best as they blaze through Zorn’s wildest flights of fancy—a ten-movement suite evoking a sick and decadent descent into madness. Driven by an intense and powerful fury, this CD contains some of the craziest sounds you are ever likely to hear as genres, noise, instrumental colors and driving rhythms collide head-on. A jaw-dropping visit to a new musical world where absolutely anything is possible!

 Series:  Archival Series

Catalogue Number:  TZ8348

Release Date:  September 2016