444 (2023)

Track Listing

1. Splendour Solis  4:26 
2. Retort  7:36 
3. In Sulphur And In Flame  3:00 
4. Astral Projection  7:31 
5. Civil Disobedience  3:29 
6. With Blood I Summon Thee  5:49 
7. Salt And Mercury  5:38 
8. Tayy Al-Ard  9:12


Matt Hollenberg - Guitar 
John Medeski - Organ
Brian Marsella - Electric Piano
Kenny Grohowski - Drums 


All music composed, arranged and conducted by John Zorn 
Produced by John Zorn 
Associate Producer - Kazunori Sugiyama 
Recorded and Mixed Dec. 27-29, 2022 by Marc Urselli at EastSide Sound, NYC 
Mastering - Scott Hull 
Design - Chippy (Heung Heung Chin) 


In 2020 Brian Marsella joined the heavy metal organ trio “Simulacrum” to spawn the astonishing fusion quartet “Chaos Magick”. This fourth CD in their ever-expanding legacy is a magical collection of instrumental music at its finest. Tighter and wilder than ever, Medeski, Hollenberg, Grohowski, and Marsella perform with a remarkable rapport in this provocative new direction from Downtown alchemist John Zorn, who has been exploring new musical worlds and confounding expectations since the 1970s! 

"444 is among the best things I’ve ever done." —John Zorn

Series:  Archival Series 

Catalogue Number:  TZ8398 

Release Date:  April 7, 2023